Health and Wellness Policies
It is our policy that all students enrolled in Dalhart Christian Academy must present written verification of all immunizations recommended by the Texas Department of State Health Services. All immunizations required for the child’s age must be completed by the date of admission. Student health and immunization records must be current for the student to remain enrolled. It is not our policy to grant exceptions.
Each student enrolled or admitted to DCA must meet applicable immunization requirements specified by the Texas Department of State Health Services Immunization Requirements in Texas Elementary and Secondary Schools and Institutions of Higher Education. This requirement applies to all children in care from birth through 17 years of age.
Except as otherwise provided in this division, all immunizations required for the child’s age must be completed by the date of admission.
According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, children require frequent boosters and immunizations in early childhood. Although they may be current with required immunizations when they enroll, they can miss future required immunizations. Since the risk of vaccine preventable disease is increased in group settings, ensuring appropriate immunization is an essential responsibility in child care.
Exemptions for immunization requirements must meet criteria specified by the Texas Department of State Health Service rules in 25 TAC #97.62 (relating to Exclusions from Compliance).
Provision for Emergency and First Aid Care
Students with minor injuries will be given first aid and returned to class after 5 to 10 minutes of observation. Students with serious injuries will be given first aid and parents will be notified. If warranted, students will be taken to the hospital by ambulance. If parents are not available at the time of transfer, designated school personnel will accompany and remain with the student until the parent/guardian assumes responsibility. Parents will be notified about medical and emergency situations when:
- A child is injured and injury requires medical attention by a health-care professional.
- A child has a sign or symptom requiring exclusion from school.
- A child has been involved in any situation that placed the child at risk.
- A child has been involved in any situation that renders the school unsafe, such as a fire, flood, or damage to the school as a result of severe weather.
A parent will be notified of less serious injuries when the parent picks up the child from school. Less serious injuries include, but are not limited to; minor cuts, scratches, and bites from other children requiring first-aid treatment by employees.
Parents will be notified in writing and within 48 hours of becoming aware that a child within the school has contracted a communicable disease that the law requires be reported to the Texas Department of Health. The school will provide written notice within 48 hours to the parents of all children in a group when there is an outbreak of lice or other infestation in the group.
A child will not be permitted to attend school if one or more of the following exists:
- The illness prevents a child from participating comfortably in school activities including outdoor play.
- The illness results in a greater need for care than staff can provide without compromising the health, safety, and supervision of the other children in class.
- The child has one of the following, unless medical evaluation by a health-care professional indicates that you can include the child in the school’s activities:
- Oral temperature of 100.4 degrees or greater, accompanied by behavior changes or other symptoms of illness
- Rectal temperature of 101.4 degrees or greater, accompanied by behavior changes or other symptoms of illness
- Armpit temperature of 99.4 degrees or greater, accompanied by behavior changes or other symptoms of illness
- Symptoms and signs of possible severe illness such as lethargy, abnormal breathing, uncontrolled diarrhea, two or more vomiting episodes in 24 hours, rash with fever, mouth sores with drooling, behavior changes, or other signs that the child may be severely ill
- A health-care professional has diagnosed the child with a communicable disease, and the child does not have medical documentation to indicate that the child is no longer contagious.
Administration of Medication by School Personnel
Prescription and non-prescription medication will be given to a student only if:
- Parents sign an authorization and include times for the school to administer medication according to label instructions.
- The medication must be in the original container labeled with the child’s full name and the date brought to the school.
- The school will only administer the medication in amounts according to the label instructions or as amended by a physician.
- The medication can only be administered to the child for whom it was intended.
- The medication will not be administered after its expiration date.
DCA will participate in health screening. This includes vision, hearing, and scoliosis. If there are any identified problems, parents will be contacted.